Kalachakra Kalapa Retreat Center

Kalachakra Kalapa Retreat Center is situated at an altitude of 1.000 meters at Garanas, a rural community in southwestern Styria, one hour drive from Graz. Since 2001 the absolutely quiet location, the wonderful view, the fresh air and water from our own spring offer optimal conditions for spiritual practice and bodywork. His Holiness the Dalai Lama gave the center the name "Kalapa". Kalapa is the capital of the legendary Pure Land Shambhala, the place of residence of the Buddha Kalachakra.

Place of refuge
The ancient Slavic word Garanas denotes "a place enclosed by hedges and protected by thorns", indicating that Garanas was already a place of retreat and refuge in earlier times.

The Buildings

Kalachakra Kalapa Retreatzentrum

The Kalachakra Kalapa Retreat Center

In the big house there are the kitchen, dining room, bedrooms, sanitary facilities and a 70 m2 seminar room. A large terrace leads to the smaller house with the 100 m2 meditation room, which is decorated in the style of Tibetan Buddhism. On the upper floor there is the teacher's apartment. At the moment, up to 30 people can be accommodated in shared rooms. Additional accommodation is available at our neighbours.

 

» Picture gallery

The Kalachakra Stupa at Garanas

Kalachakra Stupa

Kalachakra Stupa

Thanks to generous private donations the Kalachakra Stupa was built at a lovely hill behind the retreat center. A stupa is a Buddhist religious building, which represents the enlightened mind of the Buddha.

The stupa was inaugurated in 2002 by the abbot of Namgyal Monastery, Ven. Jhado Rinpoche, in the presence of 20 monks. It is exactly the same stupa as the Stupa on the private premises of H.H. Dalai Lama in Dharamsala, India.

» Picture gallery of the Kalachakra Stupa

Kontakt, Anmeldung & Kurs

Kalachakra Kalapa Retreat Center

Das Kalachakra Kalapa Retreat Center liegt auf einer Seehöhe von 1.000 Metern in der südweststeirischen Gemeinde Garanas bei Schwanberg. Die absolut ruhige Lage, die wunderbare Aussicht, die gute Luft und das Wasser aus eigener Quelle bieten seit 2001 optimale Rahmenbedingungen für spirituelle Praxis, Sammlung und Körperarbeit. Seine Heiligkeit der Dalai Lama verlieh dem Zentrum den Namen „Kalapa“. Kalapa ist die Hauptstadt des sagenumwobenen reinen Landes Shambhala, des Wohnorts des Buddha Kalachakra.

Ort der Zuflucht
Das altslawische Wort Garanas bedeutet „heckenumfriedeter, dornenbewährter Ort“, was darauf hinweist, dass Garanas auch früher schon ein Ort des Rückzugs und der Zuflucht war.

Die Gebäude

Kalachakra Kalapa Retreatzentrum

Das Kalachakra Kalapa Retreat Center

Im großen Haus befinden sich Küche, Speisesaal, die Zimmer, Sanitäreinrichtungen und ein 70 m2 großer Seminarraum.
Über eine große Terrasse gelangt man in das kleinere Haus, wo sich der ca. 100 m2 große Meditationsraum befindet, der im Stil des tibetischen Buddhismus eingerichtet ist. Darüber befinden sich eine LehrerInnen-Wohnung. Im Moment können bis zu 30 Personen in Mehrbettzimmern untergebracht werden, zusätzliche Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten bestehen bei unseren Nachbarn.

 

» Zur Bildergalerie

Der Kalachakra-Stupa in Garanas

Kalachakra Stupa

Kalachakra Stupa

Dank großzügiger privater Spenden konnte auf dem Gelände ein Kalachakra-Stupa errichtet werden. Ein Stupa ist ein religiöses buddhistisches Bauwerk, das den erleuchteten Geist Buddhas repräsentiert.
Der Stupa wurde 2002 vom damaligen Abt des Namgyal-Klosters, Ehrw. Jhado Rinpoche, im Beisein von 20 Mönchen eingeweiht. Es handelt sich um exakt den gleichen Stupa, wie er auf dem Gelände Seiner Heiligkeit des Dalai Lama in Dharamsala, Indien, steht.

Der Stupa ist frei zugänglich und kann jederzeit besichtigt werden.

 

» Bilder vom Kalachakra Stupa

Kontakt, Anmeldung & Kurs